Which to choose: Dewalt vs. Makita

Discussion in 'Tools - Machine Polishers, Pressure Washers, Detai' started by racersky, Feb 9, 2009.

1. racersky

racersky Jedi Nuba

I had a thread which I made near the end of last you stating I found a dewalt 849 buffer and got it repaired at a local Ace Hardware store but now it's beginning to start acting up. I'm thinking about just buying a whole new buffer all together to start fresh. What would you guys recommend me to do? Buy another dewalt 849 or try out the Makita 9227c?

2. Reflect

Reflect DB Forum Supporter

The Makita is a great machine, but I've never tried a Dewalt before. Paul Dalton uses a Makita...

3. Charlies02GLS

Charlies02GLS Jedi Nuba

What are the symptoms? Why not try to fix it yourself since you don't have a whole lot to lose at this point?

4. racersky

racersky Jedi Nuba

^^^ Good Point but I was thinking about picking up another buffer so i can have two and don't have to keep switching BPs all the time. The symptoms now is the buffer sometimes shut off by itself like as if it overheats or something but then when I go and try to smell if anything is burning nothing. I will let it sit down a few hours and it will still not work. When I smack the buffer a little and then all out nowhere and begins to work again. What I'm thinking is there's something inside that is loose but I don't know what can be loose.

5. pektel

pektel DB Forum Supporter

I've only used the Makita, but its an awesome machine.

Although I still can't finish down a polish nicely with a rotary, so I have to grab the PC still for getting rid of holograms. :(

6. SSTG

SSTG DB Forum Supporter

Might need new motor brushes?

7. racersky

racersky Jedi Nuba

gonna take it to ace hardware again to see what's the problem

8. Buddy

Buddy Getting to know Detailing