What is the next step, Pads or Polish?

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by Corey R., Dec 3, 2009.

1. Corey R.

Corey R. Virgin Detailer

The most abrasive combo I have is an Orange pad with SIP. I was not able to remove the scratches and swirls from my 2000 Jeep, so I ordered a few 6.5 inch yellow pads and Megs 105. I am not sure if I need to go Orange pad/105, 105/yellow pad, or orange pad/105.

This is an example, but is there a general rule of what to change first, pads or polish? What would be the next step up in abrasiveness?

On a Side note: All of my pads are 6.5 inches. I have a PC 7424. I have been reading this is too big of a pad, but right now it is all I have. I will step to a smaller one once I use these up. Am I wasting my time with all these 6.5 inch pads? I am not a professional detailer, just a hobbyist.

2. RNickolas

RNickolas Obsessive Detailer

you should be fine with m105 on the orange pad, if not step up to yellow and sip and then yellow and m105

3. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter

First up, you are fine with 6.5" pads on your PC as long as you are using a 6" BP. I prefer the 5.25 - 5.75" pads as they are easier to work with. Are the yellow pads the Megs polishing pads or LC compounding?

4. Jedidiah

Jedidiah Guest

i had issues when i first started it wasn't product / pad . it was how i was using them. i wasn't letting the product break down and was using too much. not sure your skill level so not trying to offend.

detailersdomain has a lot of great videos that show you how slow / how much / what speed etc.

5. togwt

togwt Nuba Guru

Foam and Polish Combinations