New to polishing, question

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by upsidedown, Jul 27, 2012.

1. upsidedown

upsidedown Virgin Detailer

I'm new to auto detailing and polishing so any info is good info...

I want to opticoat my car, but there is tones of minor swirls on it.
    I've tried to use optimum finish polish (tried to keep the same brand) but it doesn't seem to help.. and feels like i am actually scratching the car up even more.

I did some reading on the form and most people suggests Menzerna, but on their description it recommends that it is better to be used with machine than by hand.
    Since i dont really have the money to invest in a machine right now, what is the best option for polishing these swirls by hand?

are the Chemical Guys V series (V38) any good?

2. daveinsweethome

daveinsweethome DB Forum Supporter

not sure where you are located but doing it by hand is a pain in the rear. some random orbitals are for sale on e bay etc. new ones cost less than 150 i believe. some newer cars have really hard ceramic type paint and scratch removal by hand is almost impossible. menzerna are top line products but a whole lot of people just use meguiars 105 and 205 with great results. good luck

3. rwisejr

rwisejr DB Forum Supporter

For one what kind of car is it ? Two in order to properly remove the swirls you need to do this by machine. Then depending on the paint hardness and the severity of the defects . You can then dial in the polish required.

4. upsidedown

Its a new Ultramarine FR-S that I got a few wks ago. Didn't notice any swirls at the time, but a buddy pointed it out one day under the sun, so I am guessing it was mostly from dealership when they wax/prep it...

i want to avoid using a machine as i 150$ for a polisher seems a bit much not knowing if how often i would use it. But i guess swirl removal cant really be done by hand?

5. upsidedown

6. daveinsweethome

daveinsweethome DB Forum Supporter