Is My Pricing on Point?

Discussion in 'Detailing Bliss Lounge' started by Tire Shredder, Apr 24, 2010.

1. Tire Shredder

Tire Shredder Jedi Nuba

Hi guys, this is my first stab at making auto detailing a source of income. I have no professional experience, so I'm taking a guess at how long things will take me. I've tried to price things at a reasonable level to local shops around me, and I think my lower two packages are good, but I'm unsure how long or how much I should charge for things like correction and carpet work.

I will be 100% mobile detailer. I'm just trying to break into the market...there's no way I can jump right into high-end cars like many of you guys are and charge high amounts...I just don't have the experience for it. I do, however have the basic tools and attention to detail to the make this a success. I'm a 22 yr old university student, and will be doing this for a summer job.

My clientel will be middle-to upper class, I must keep my prices reasonable. You won't see details on any ferraris from me, Some german cars and a corvette or two is more likely. Please have a look over what I am thinking round now. I do NOT have an extractor and ken from autowerkes suggest I stay away from shampooing, but the first two customers I have want their carpet cleaned. I'm hoping I can get the job done with some cleaners, my vac and steamer.

as ken suggests, I just plan on advertising the wash/vac and protection packages to entice people to get add-ons.

My correction package involves a 1-stage only using some powergloss and my Porter cable. I don't have the equipment for anything more serious than that.

are my time and dollar estimates reasonable? what do you guys think?

Wash/ Vacuum Package - $55 Car $75 SUV (2hrs)
    This is a great wash and maintenance package. It lays the groundwork for all other work.
    - toucless foam pre-wash
    - hand wash exterior of vehicle
    - clean inner fenders
    - detail tires and wheels