I need help..

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by er1k, Apr 21, 2008.

1. er1k

er1k Obsessive Detailer

I have been looking and searching around for polishes and I can't seem to find one that is what I need. All I really want right now is a basic polish. Any suggestions? Thank you!

2. Asphalt Rocket

Asphalt Rocket Nuba Guru

What do you mean by basic polish?

3. er1k

er1k Obsessive Detailer

Well I keep on seeing like all these polishes with different intenses, if that makes sense..

In other words, what is a good polisher for a beginner?

4. MadOzodi

MadOzodi Nuba Guru

Still being a beginner myself, and having read about polishing for quite a few months before trying my hand at actually correcting, knowing what the condition of the paint you're working on before is the first step.

Once you know that, you'll be able to understand better the "different intenses" or cuts of the various polishes that all the veteran polishers reference and describe.

For a beginner, I'd imagine some people would suggest Poorboy's SSR line or Pinnacle's XMT line and a PC7424. But there are many others that I'm not aware of. As a beginner, I'm jumped in using a Flex 3401 and Menzerna after only using my UDM to apply waxes and sealants. I've read about some beginners saying the heck with it and buying a rotary straight up.

FYI, I experienced the gumming/balling up of SIP yesterday that I've read about many times on this forum but was able to adjust right away.

How about some more detailed questions from you?

5. Nica

Nica Banned

Polish for a beginner huh...mmmm...well you can't go wrong with Menzerna, it breaks down quite fast and best of all it produces incredable results.

As to what to choose, I find Menzerna Intensive Polish to be quite the versatile product, it can take care of just about anything.