Detailing Help

Discussion in 'Detailing Bliss Lounge' started by aeghbal, Mar 8, 2015.

1. aeghbal

aeghbal New Member

Hello everyone,
    Thank you for reading my post. My name is Amir. I have just purchased a used black honda civic. I have never polished a car, I have only waxed by hand. My father has an older 7" Porter Cable Polisher, I have also recently purchased a cheap Wen 6" Random Orbit Waxer. Considering I am a beginner, and the car is dark (in this case black but I want to get products which I can use for the other car which is dark grey), please advise me what to use (not too expensive). I have been looking at Mothers products from Clay Bar to the 3 step system they have. 3M and Mecguire seem like they have alot of good products too. There is a pretty bad scratch in the front of the car, which I am sure I need to sand. There are rubbing compounds, scratch removers, clay bars, polishes, waxes. What is the difference between a rubbing compound and polish? Also there are many different heads for the polishers. This being my first project, I don't want to make things too complicated but get the best results possible. Any advice would be deeply appreciated.

Thank You,
    Amir

2. Meticulous-Detail

Meticulous-Detail DB Forum Supporter

A little something I put together for customers, this is very GENERAL and for those NOT familiar with detailing.

Detailing: To meticulously clean, polish and protect all parts of a vehicle from top to bottom, inside and out, utilizing special tools and products that would not normally be used by your typical car wash.

Maintenance Wash: General maintenance wash is for a vehicle whose exterior has been well maintained with polishes and sealants. This wash utilizes a gentle shampoo that will not strip wax or sealants and add gloss and shine.