$700 140k mile 99 tahoe interior, how would you conquer this beast?

Discussion in 'Interior Car Care' started by BigDreZ28, Oct 2, 2012.

1. BigDreZ28

BigDreZ28 Jedi Nuba

Friend picked up a $700 tahoe from an estate sale that sat for 2 years after fuel injection system failure, simple fix to get it running then he's fixing some minor body damage.

It was abused on the inside, it's a beater but he wants me to try and clean it up the best I can. I figured this is a good truck to do some more serious detail work on instead of the new car prep I do at my normal job (lexus dealer). Should be fun, I like a good challenge when I can take my time...at work it's always "rush rush get the car outta here"

Picture album

Truck is pretty simple to disassemble on the inside, I plan on removing all the seats and a lot of trim first and foremost to make it easier.

From looking at it, there appeared to be about 4 dogs worth of hair inside! haha

This is my first time doing a car this nasty and he is cool with that, but I'm curious if you more experienced folks have some tips to share!

Thanks in advance

-Andre

2. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter

dynamite.

3. Kaban

Kaban Welcome to Detailing

I agree with this man.

4. Kilo6_one

Kilo6_one DB Forum Supporter

there is a company called JC whitney, buy a new carpet kit, and the seats.......... just buy new ones........

I would not try to salvage anything.

Looks like the dogs pissed and shit all over it.

5. BigDreZ28

BigDreZ28 Jedi Nuba

lmao @ dynamite. well darn I'll certainly suggest that to him and see if he's up for it.

6. boredstudent3

boredstudent3 Wax on..Wax off

i love these kind of jobs. if you don't want to do it, then send it my way...haha

it looks like you have pretty good access to all areas even without removing the seats, but definitely take them out, it'll make for even easier cleaning.