Wool Pad Preferences and MF Pad Preferences

Discussion in 'Tools - Machine Polishers, Pressure Washers, Detai' started by alphauto, Apr 4, 2013.

1. alphauto

alphauto Virgin Detailer

Just trying to look for opinions on which wool pads people prefer for their rotary compounding.

There are a few options out there and unlike foam pads (where the color tells much about the cut and finish), with wool pads there isn't much of a description.

I've used the lake county white ones before but wondering if there are other ones that might be better. Also what is the difference between the foamed wool pads that they sell and the normal white colored wool pads? I've never used the foamed ones before.

I've experimented with the Optimum MF pads when they first came out. I was disappointed as it only lasted me half a car and it started to come apart from the foam. Are the new ones better? How do the Lake Country and Meguairs ones compare for durability and cut?

Any knowledge and experience is appreciated :applause2:

2. Anthony Onorato

Anthony Onorato Any Rag Vehicle Washer

Would the MF pads be for rotary? To my knowledge you won't have a good experience with the because the oscillating motion is what really benefits the MF pads. A circular, rotary motion just matts the fibers down almost instantly and doesn't provide a whole lot of cut...not to mention the extra heat. That might explain your prior experience with MF pads.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2

3. alphauto

alphauto Virgin Detailer

Sorry should have mentioned I was using the MF pads with a porter. It worked well - it just didnt last very long.

4. RZJZA80

RZJZA80 Two Bucket System Washer

Keeping the speed down, like on 4 on a GG6, and using compressed air to clean them, will make your MF pads last a long time. Both things keep the heat down, which is the cause of the separation in most cases.

5. alphauto

alphauto Virgin Detailer

Any reason to choose a specific?

Meguiars, Optimum, Lake Country