What to Tape...

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by Jedidiah, Oct 9, 2009.

1. Jedidiah

Jedidiah Guest

HI there.. i'm a complete novice when it comes to using my PC7424 but with some tips from Phil and the videos in his blog i have been getting a lot better..

I try to look at all the detailing picture write ups /etc.. I have a couple questions if someone can enlighten me i would be very grateful .

1.) Tape. should i go tape crazy or just keep it simple?
    2.) Also i see some picture post that look like there is tape over the gaps in doors / body panels. is this considered standard. For example how on earth would i do a gas cap door cover with out taping the gaps?

Thanks a ton for any feed back.
    -Jedidiah

2. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter

The idea is to tape anything that can be marred or potentially damaged by running your polisher into it. You also want to stop any polish from getting on exposed porous plastic pieces asuch as mirror casings, door bump strips etc as its easier to tape them off then clean them off. You don't typically have the same issue with a pc as its not force driven, but it's a good habit to get into. Some guys will tape over gaps in the body panels to prevent any polishing dust from getting in. Just saves having to clean it out later. I personally don't tape gaps but its up to you.

3. Jedidiah

Jedidiah Guest

Thanks 911.

I have been taping the black plastic stuff. but i can't imagine how much tape some of the professional detailers go through.

time for me to find a friend that works for 3M :)

4. kustomizingkid

kustomizingkid Nuba Guru

That tape is WAY too expensive... I tape anything that can get hurt or is a pita to clean...

5. Jedidiah

Jedidiah Guest

thanks for the replies i just found another thread that talked about the taping of the gaps too.

6. truenosan

truenosan Virgin Detailer