What is it that I'm doing wrong

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by TheMystic, Mar 8, 2010.

1. TheMystic

TheMystic Virgin Detailer

Hi all.

Please :help:

I've trying to sort the paintwork on my 2001 Alfa Romeo Selespeed.
    I'm new to detailing so here is what I've got and done so far.

I washed the car with the Meguiars car wash and micro fiber mit. Then I rinsed it off and dried it with the Meguiars water magnet towel. I followed that with a clay bar, fine grade from AutoGlym. After witch I rinsed and tried the car again. The car stood over night in the gararge.
    Now I've been working it with the Meguiars Swirl X.

Goodies used: [​IMG]
    This is the result.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I will still polish and wax the car.
    So now I must ask, what is it that I'm doing wrong? The Jetta is the same.

2. pushtiulk

pushtiulk Guest

Did you work the swirl x manual?

3. TheMystic

Yes. It's all by hand for me.

4. Dust2Glory

Dust2Glory Nuba Guru

you need to step up to a Porter cable at the least, some cutting pads and decent polishes if you want GREAT results.

You've got some deeper RIDS and some light marring.... I would say go with Meg's 105/205 combo.

Maybe Orange CCS pads, White and then black

5. TheMystic

Ah :sorry: I'm a noob.

Can you please explain the following: :shead:

Porter cable?
    RIDS?

Orange CCS pads, White and black?

6. Darkstar752

Darkstar752 Horizon Detailing

See the haze extending from the sides of the light in the after pictures? That's micro-marring, it's going to look fine in the garage but once the sun hits it, it's gonna look worse than before. You need to either work the polish for longer, decreasing pressure slowly as you go, or get a finer polish and follow it up. Also, not too sure what you use for hand polishing, but it could be the pad marring the paint as well.