What do you guys use for odor control.

Discussion in 'Interior Car Care' started by I VIK I, May 21, 2010.

1. I VIK I

I VIK I Two Bucket System Washer

I am not a professional detailer just a college kid into keeping a clean car. I own a 10 year ol car with a cloth interior and as the weather warms up the funky smells come back. I am not a smoker, nor do I eat in the car but its a nasty muggyness and I have to run the ac to get the smell to go away even when it isnt that hot outside. Please advise on what sort of products you use to keep things smelling fresh or just even keeping the odor away.

2. Tire Shredder

Tire Shredder Jedi Nuba

try something with an enzyme action in it? rent an extractor (carpet cleaner) if you need to, and pull your seats out. give the seats and carpet under the seats a good cleaning.

3. mrgolfrider

mrgolfrider DB Forum Supporter

If the car has the smells in which you describe you can always place some baking soda under the seats to help draw the smells out. You might also want to check the cabin filter. My Golf is a 2000 and it has one, you will be amazed with how dirty it is.

4. I VIK I

The car doesn't have a cabin filter, and I live in NY where can I rent a extractor from? Do you guys consider a rug doctor a extractor? The hasn't really had any spills in but its a real musty smell. Any spray on? And can you be specific about which exact product you recommend because I don't know some of the terminology you pro's use, Thanks.

5. I VIK I

PS: Just saw extractors going for $500.00+ on autogeek, for someone like me that doesnt do it professionally its not worth to buy, where can I rent?

6. Tire Shredder

Tire Shredder Jedi Nuba

my local grocery story rents "Rug Doctor" extractors that have worked well for me in the past, before I bought my own equipment.

7. togwt

togwt Nuba Guru

My son has just used this product on an neglected classic MB interior-

Odour Neutralizer / Deodorizing