Washing: From Start to Finish - Your process?

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by adriankeith, Mar 3, 2008.

1. adriankeith

adriankeith Birth of a Detailer

Before I found this forum, I had just been using a small bucket and a bunch of random sponges. I just used the hose and sponged away at the car until I got most of the major dirt off.

I've always wanted to take better care of my car but I just didn't know how to do it properly. I'm new to detailing but I love taking care of my car. My question is, what is your process from start to finish in washing your car? I've been reading a number of threads where people use a foam gun. Does foaming the car do more than just your initial rinse (using a pressure washer)? Yikes, so many questions and yet still more..

I recently picked up the bucket from CG (bucket, grid guard, wash mitt, and 16oz CG CWG) which is great because its a lot bigger than what I used to have. Is there any way that I can prolong the life of my wash mitt? Should I be leaving it out to dry?

Last of all, Tires. I clean my car and when it comes to tires all I use is Meguiar's Tire Foam. It ends up alright and lasts for a bit but I feel like theres something that would last longer. I also clean my girlfriend's car (1998 BMW 328i) but when it comes to her tires, I don't know what to use. When I use the tire foam on her car, they're black for a few days but soon after they're back to their brown ugly color. When her car isn't clean, the tires really stand out.

Sorry for all these questions! I've been trying to do a lot of reading before I posted this but there is an insane amount of information and acronyms (I found the acronym thread) but I am slowly pulling it together.

Also, the two bucket method. It's talked about in another thread but not really any further than, "Do you use the two bucket method?"

OK. I think i'm done.

2. reefer_bob

reefer_bob Obsessive Detailer