Was DA or Rotary, now, how good is the Flex XC 3401?

Discussion in 'Detailers Domain' started by cgfen, Nov 25, 2012.

1. cgfen

cgfen Virgin Detailer

I’m sure this has been discussed ad nauseum, but a search provided no obvious threads.
    I currently have a 3+ year old Porter Cable DA polisher and am unhappy with its performance. It seems that lately whenever I use it, it “stalls out” whenever I put a bit of pressure on it or come to a contour. It seems to function OK when floating over a flat surface.
    So I was considering stepping up to a Makita rotary.
    Logging onto DD I see that now the cool-n-groovy polishers seem to be made by FLEX, both DA and rotary.
    So the decision was, buy the Flex XC 3401 VRG DA, or the FLEX PE14-2-150 rotary?

I’m a hobbyist that will only polish my own cars, all of which have good – excellent paint, (1996 and 2009 911s and 2011 Audi Avant). The Avant needs the most correction since it lived its first year being washed be dealer “lot boys”, sigh. <Both the 911’s have a lot of clear bra that I’m still trying to figure out how best to care for, but that’s a different thread>.
    I guess there’s really no need to step up to the rotary and go through that learning curve??????

So the real question is, is the XC 3401 VRG a significant step up from the CP DA that I already have?

Would love to get your thoughts ASAP so that I can take advantage of our hosts Black Friday sales.

Thanks,

Craig

993 shown below post paint correction by RAGS just prior to clear bra install.
    (he didn't use a DA :worship2: )

Attached Files:

2. Pureshine

Pureshine DB Pro Supporter

I've been using a DA for 3 years and still going strong. I am getting the Griot's everyone seems to like it better?

3. bryansbestwax

bryansbestwax DB Forum Supporter