Teach me how to clean carpets (salt, oil stains)

Discussion in 'Interior Car Care' started by m4gician, Aug 8, 2009.

1. m4gician

m4gician Birth of a Detailer

Hey DB,

I wanted to appeal to you gurus about cleaning floormats and carpets. I've had some negative experiences recently in dealing with carpeted floor mats, and I am humbly asking for some assistance in helping my routine become a better, and more effective routine for myself and more importantly the customers I offer this to.

My Current Equipment
    - 12 gallon shop vac
    - carpet scrub brush
    - Megs APC (i go 2:1 up to 8:1) - b/c of the "fabric softener" content on the back.
    - Electric Pressure Washer

My current routine (doesn't work on heavy oil and crusted salt stains)

This routine usually works on light areas, but still leaves stains, and does NOTHING to melt away salt stains or those brown "oil" (they look like oil) stains in the carpets.

1) Rinse carpets with pressure washer
    2) spray liberally with MEgs APC cut around 4:1
    3) scrub like crazy until the carpet is nothing but foam
    4) rinse with pressure washer
    5) suck dry with wet vac

Why am I complaining? Well two things, that routine doesn't seem to get the carpet any cleaner, just moist after suck drying. And secondly:

- I need something that doesn't require the pressure washer as it won't work on the unremovable carpet on the inside.

My questions are:

1) What products should I be using? (Zero by Woolite? Detergent? Folex?)
    2) Do I need to buy a Bissle Little Green Machine just for carpets?
    3) What methods or equipment am I missing?
    4) Should I bring a hot water boiler with me to details?

Thanks in advanced everyone.

2. kustomizingkid

kustomizingkid Nuba Guru

Twogt wrote a thesis on carpet cleaning... it's in the detailing school section...

3. m4gician

I just watched this video on how to use a carpet extractor, I'm doing all of those things except I need to re-equip.