Splotchy rubber trim?

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by liverbomb88, Feb 3, 2009.

1. liverbomb88

liverbomb88 Virgin Detailer

Hi, noob here. I have a MB C350 that I recently sent through an auto car wash, and my black rubber seals around the windows turned splotchy. Water, onr, laundry detergent, vegetable oil all didn't work. Wondering if experts can first tell me why it turned mottled, and second how to get rid of it. I'm thinking of trying 303, but not sure if that will work. Thanks in advance for the advice.

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      68.4 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      58.9 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      43.9 KB
      Views:
  2. BrendanS

BrendanS Welcome to Detailing

3. TheJag

TheJag Birth of a Detailer

i have the same thing on my Supra, but being an 87, i assumed it was just fading of the paint. I use a trim gloss type of stuff that we have at work (distributed by Kar Glo, called Clear Gloss) that hides it really well and gives all the rubber a real nice even matte finish after you buff the stuff off.

OOH, just remembered, griots sells this stuff called rubber prep, i havent tried it yet, but its supposed to make any rubber surface like new, maybe give that a try and follow with their vinyl and rubber dressing?

4. krshultz

krshultz Nuba Guru

Try Lexol Vinylex.

I recently did a 2002 Dodge Ram with black plastic mirror housings. Stoner Trim Shine - my usual "go to" for black plastic - left it looking all splotchy. Vinylex fixed it right up.

It's one of my favorite products, and one that I've been using for many years. Less expensive than 303, and easier to find.

5. PhoTuGo

PhoTuGo Jedi Nuba

Darn any of you guys know why 1z Gummi can't be shiped to cali?

6. TheJag

cuz california has really stupidly strict fun sucking regulations. thank god i live in oregon!

7. PhoTuGo

PhoTuGo Jedi Nuba