Reviving my paint!

Discussion in 'Car Detailing Product Discussion' started by CYANiDE, Jun 27, 2012.

1. CYANiDE

CYANiDE Virgin Detailer

Well, I'm completely new to this and have never detailed. I tried to get into it a little while back but never went through. I now realize that I need to make my car's paint nice and shiny lol.

Here are the tools I plan to get/use:
    PC 7424XP
    M105/M205 Combo (what pads should I use 105 with White Pad and 205 with a Black?)
    Tarminator Spray for the tons of tar I have stuck to my hood, roof, trunk
    ONR
    Collinite 845 (Already Have - what pad should I apply this?)
    Meguiars Mirror Glaze #16 (Already Have - what pad should I use to apply this?)
    Meguiars Clay Kit (already have)

My paint also has sort of like paint "spatter" from construction and such, will the Tarminator work on this? Should I try using Goo-gone? Any other cleaner?

This will be my first detail (I'll be practicing on a few panels of a beater toyota before I attempt it on my car). It has about 6 years worth of swirls and automatic car washes on it (I didn't know any better!).

Any tips on how long I should let stuff sit, techniques, videos, the order which I should use the products? Etc...

2. astro_ng

astro_ng Jedi Nuba

m105 I'd use a cutting pad(orange) and for the 205 id use a polishing pad(white/teal)

Collinite/glaze you can use your black pad.

Tarminator should work on your splatter.

3. ACE2790

ACE2790 Jedi Nuba

Man, so much to learn but I guess there's no better to learn than to just jump in.

When it comes to detailing you want to accomplish the greatest results with the least aggressive method possible. I'm just going to rattle off some pointers in no certain order that might help you out come correction day.

-Invest in an all purpose cleaner for road grime, stripping old waxes, tar, brake dust, etc.
    -Clean the wheels/tires/wheel wells first
    -Don't let Tarminator get on any trim