Need advice on Winter Wax

Discussion in 'Last Steps: Waxes, Sealants, and Coatings' started by PTJD, Feb 16, 2008.

1. PTJD

PTJD Any Rag Vehicle Washer

Well, I'm rather new to this detailing thing and have a question about some wax.
    My car is black sapphire metallic & the wife's ride is light green metallic.
    Currently I have or will have:
    Z Concours (thanks Phil)
    P Soverain (thanks Diesel)
    VW Red (thanks Canada)
    and a bottle of Collinite 845 using it for protection of my corian counter for the outdoor kitchen (works well).
    I would like to get a wax <$100 that will last a little longer during the winter months and also give that pop to my paint.
    Looking at Titanium, 50/50 and Lusso.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks

2. Al-53

Al-53 Welcome to Detailing

as far as the waxes I have used for winter protection..I think the collinite waxes do it best...the 915...885 and 845IW..in that order...I apply it in Nov or Oct and it brings me clear into spring no problem...they beat off the salt real nice and that's a wax killer SALT..

I use a sealant under them also...and let the wax be the sacrificial barrier while the sealant is sealing the paint also...

As what i was told Collinite does contain a polymer in it also...so thats the secret to its longevity...

as far as waxes like Zymol...Swissvax...Lusso..I can not comment on them as i have never used them..I will let the users of them chime in...

but all in all..Collinite will go 5 months or better for protecting during the winter....but its not a true wax in the sense of waxes like the zymols..swissies..and lusso...collinite has a nice look esp. the 915..but I do not think it competes with the better beauty waxes as I mentioned above..they are in a class of thier own...true beauty waxes...handcrafted products....

Al

3. DieselMDX

DieselMDX Obsessive Detailer

collinite 476s or 845

megs 16

4. Deep Gloss Auto Salon

Deep Gloss Auto Salon DB Pro Supporter