Meguiars Wheel Brightener

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by I VIK I, Apr 16, 2011.

1. I VIK I

I VIK I Two Bucket System Washer

Interesting find from another forum, Im not sure if I can link so I will copy the thread. Ive been using wheel brightener for the past 4 years, but I only detail my own cars, No gloves or mask, am I a dead man?

Some wheel cleaners contain Ammonium Bi-fluoride. I've been doing some reading on this, and it really is some scary stuff! So I thought I would share my findings...

A product like Meguiar's Wheel Brightener for instance, contains Ammonium Bi-fluoride (ABF). I should say that I generally like Meguiar's products, and they offer many alternative wheel cleaners without ABF. So this is not to bash a product or brand, but only meant as an example. I would also like to acknowledge Meguiar's for providing download-able MSDS's from their website, so people are able to know what they are actually dealing with.

The first hint of the health risk is that Wheel Brightener has a NFPA health rating of 3, which reads: Short exposure could cause serious temporary or residual injury even though prompt medical attention was given.

I've found valuable information regarding ABF in an article from Professional Carwashing & Detailing Magazine, available here: Article Archives

Here's a few quotes from that article:

Ammonium bifluoride (ABF) is one of the most common, and dangerous, wheel cleaners used in automatic carwashes today. Its effectiveness removing brake dust and difficult contaminants from chrome wheels is undisputed, but some chemists say ABF presents an unjustifiable and potentially lethal risk to carwash operators and their employees.

ABF, sometimes known as ammonium fluoride or ammonium hydrogen fluoride, is a crystalline salt formed when ammonium hydroxide reacts with HF. Through a complicated chemical reaction, ABF essentially becomes HF when mixed with water or liquid cleaning solutions.