Meguiar's MF Pad Tips/Advice

Discussion in 'Car Detailing Product Discussion' started by Peacemaker, Dec 3, 2012.

1. Peacemaker

Peacemaker Two Bucket System Washer

Hey guys,

Per Phill's suggestion, I went with Megs MF cutting pads, 1x green uber pad, and Menzerna FG400. This was paired with a GG 6". Did the detail yesterday, took a long time. This is only my second time using the DA, so I'm still learning.

I realized half way in that the pad wasn't rotating when I applied pressure. From reading through various articles and resources, I knew that I had to use pressure + slow speed to achieve higher cuts with the MF pad. After doing a test panel before starting, I knew that the pressure I started out with wasn't doing enough correction. So I began using more pressure.

I researched the pad not rotating and found that I have to ease up on pressure or increase speed to remedy this. I had the DA on 3.75/4 and I didn't have much luck with the pad rotating.

For those who have used this system before, do you have any advice for the next time I attempt to compound?

Thanks.

2. belair

belair Birth of a Detailer

Make sure the pad is flat against the paint. It took concentration to do that when I first started.

3. Peacemaker

Thanks, I definitely tried to take note of that when thinking about my form/technique when applying pressure and holding the orbital. What about it not spinning? I was under the impression slower speeds (4800rpm or less) for the mf pads.

4. Pureshine

Pureshine DB Pro Supporter

Your speed should be at 4-5 thats what use when using micro fiber pads.

5. RZJZA80

RZJZA80 Two Bucket System Washer

Speed 4 and light to moderate pressure is all you need with MF pads along with slow arm movement, let the compound and pad do the work.

6. Peacemaker

How fast should the pad be rotating on the DA?

7. RZJZA80