Looking for advice - new car with possible paint defect

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by Mike1082, May 7, 2015.

1. Mike1082

Mike1082 New Member

Hello all. New member here, though I have lurked for a while. I would call myself a detailing "enthusiast", but I am by no means a professional. I have yet to do anything to screw up anyone's paint (my own included) but I do have the tools necessary to do so.

Last week I purchased my first new car, a 2015 VW GTI SE w/ Performance Package. Like many here would do, I asked to not have the dealership detailer touch the car, and brought it home to care for the paint myself. Over the past weekend, I had a few hours to myself (not enough time for a proper detail and protection, but enough for a good wash).

First step was a foam bath. Used Adams shampoo (the older red one, trying to use this up before I order the new formula). I have an AR 383 pressure washer and an MTM Hydro foam cannon. Used the foam as extra lubrication to do my 2 bucket wash with a MF chenille mit. As you can see, my driveway is nice and shaded, provided I get up early and get to it.
    [​IMG]

Even though I was very short on time, I couldn't leave it unprotected. Lucky for me, I was able to attend the Adam's Polishes Detailing Clinic held at Detailer's Domain a few weeks back. During that event, I was introduced to Adams H2O Guard & Gloss. Dried the car while protecting it at the same time, a true time saver.
    [​IMG]

Went around the car to check my work, and I was really pleased with the shine. The color is called Carbon Steel Metallic. It wasn't my first color choice, but I am really happy with it.
    [​IMG]

Then I noticed this on the drivers door...
    [​IMG]