Leather Care Discussion

Discussion in 'Interior Car Care' started by ToddS, Aug 31, 2010.

1. ToddS

ToddS Virgin Detailer

Being the newbie here, figured I'd open up a can of worms. I'm looking for some good discussion on proper leather care.

"It should be noted that 90% of all leathers are coated with chemical preservatives. A conditioner is necessary to penetrate the breathable parts of your interior and restore it to maximum showroom presence." - Superior Auto Care

The leather care industry has long led us to believe that leather, like your own skin, needs a moisturizer or 'conditioner' to keep it from drying out, cracking, and becoming damaged. This is easily believable because everyone has experienced dry skin, sometimes painful, and knows leather is basically cow skin. Our skin can get sunburned, so we need to protect it from the sun as well. According to the automotive leather care industry, we can buy 'leather conditioners' which soften our automotive leather like Jergens and protects it from the sun like Banana Boat. We buy these products, lovingly apply them to our leather seats, and bask in the lush softness of cow-hide as we feel satisfied the expensive leather is being properly taken care of... or is it?

From all the reading, research, and personal experience I have from cleaning and conditioning all types of automotive leather (including the process listed above), I feel swindled that it has all been for naught. This really bothers me because I can usually read a bulls**ter from a mile away and I have been bulls**ted by this for a long time.