I need help. Newbie to detailing.

Discussion in 'Car Detailing Product Discussion' started by Jared, Jun 3, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Jared

Jared Virgin Detailer

My father I trust greatly (master auto body mechanic) says that my current car should never be touched with a buffer because the paint is extremely thin (09 honda fit). That put a seed in my head to not even thing about using one.

Now I am purchasing a 2012 WRX and it is to be untouched my the dealer.
    My concern is for the new car I haven't received yet. I want it looking as new as the day I bought it so I saw someone on a forum "color correct" their car and then put a layer of Opti-Coat 2. which is what I'd like to do but I do not think I have the 1. Money to bring it to a shop to do it or 2. The amount of skill required to get it to my desired shine. Any help it greatly appreciated.... Below is the steps I usually use when washing my car well.
    Like the title says I am extremely new at this so any little tips would be great.

Here are the steps I use when Giving it a thorough was/wax:
    ~Rinse
    ~Wash with Gold Class or Ultimate Wash & Wax (I used to use Black Magic because it smelled awesome and made my car look just as good but cannot find it in stores anymore). [using 2 bucket method] - Never letting all surfaces dry when washing.
    ~Dry with microfiber towels
    ~Clay bar... only moving the clay in the direction of how wind would travel over the car. Using Quick Detail as a lubricant
    ~Wax with NXT Generation Wax 2.0 by hand ---I picked up Ultimate Liquid Wax but haven't tried it out

2. artemis53

artemis53 Jedi Nuba

There is no reason you couldn't use a "buffer" on MOST cars out there. Especially if you got a DA Polisher, you could polish that FIT right up!