How is the detailing industry viewed where you are

Discussion in 'Detailing Bliss Lounge' started by Sublime, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Sublime

Sublime Any Rag Vehicle Washer

Im not sure how the Pro Detailing industry is viewed in the US, but here in Perth W.australia it seems to be a very undervalued service. What I mean by that is, the perception of how well regarded detailers are considered to be. Are they viewed as being on the same level as a mechanic, a Plumber or a pizza delivery boy?

Cheers,
    Brett.

2. Frankastic

Frankastic Detail Photographer

I'm a mechanic and my co-workers think detailing is below mechanic. which it's true in a dealership. my dealership labor rate is $150, I dunno any detailer that charges that. but that $150 labor rate everyone gets a cut....

3. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter

I think that in areas where people aren't as educated about detailing, the perceived value will be low. Unfortunately, that means a lot of talented guys are under rated and thus under paid.

4. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter

That $150 is the dealership rate and is based on the cost of the building you are working out of. I guarantee you won't find any self employed mechanics charging anywhere near that. A journeyman mechanic here will get around $25-30/hr plus benefits so lets say his salary package is worth $50/hr. A decent detailer will command $40-50/hr but will have expenses out of that.

5. blacK20

blacK20 Birth of a Detailer