Hair goo

Discussion in 'Interior Car Care' started by triplemaya, Aug 30, 2009.

1. triplemaya

triplemaya Virgin Detailer

Hi. I'm a total novice at dealing with leather, I have a leather seat which has a really ucky mark halfway up the back. It is clearly from where some, presumably elderly, person has sat day after day, there is an area about head size which has some deposit which will not come off easily. ( There were quite a few white hairs embedded in it but I've got all these off! ) I've tried putting dubbin all over it to soften up the deposit, which seems to have had some effect, but it still sticks tight to the surface. It's very like the glue you often get left when you peel off a label from something you've bought and it leaves some of the adhesive behind. It's like that but harder. I can just about get little bits off with my nails, but at that rate its going to be several hours of hard work, it would be nice to find something that would soften up or remove the deposit. I've tried most of the things in the house, glass cleaner, furniture polish, t cut, and washing detergent, which took the top layer off the colour - not too bad a disaster as I need to get some dye to recolour faded areas anyway!
    Any idea?
    Thanks in advance.

2. judyb

judyb Any Rag Vehicle Washer

This sounds as though it is head grease whihc has penetrated the leather over time (very common on furntiure but not often seen on car leather). Trying all the different household cleaners will not have helped.