For you smokers...

Discussion in 'Detailing Bliss Lounge' started by TheRustySuper, Aug 7, 2011.

1. TheRustySuper

TheRustySuper Obsessive Detailer

I know we've got some smokers on this board, and surely I'm not the only one who smokes cigarettes. How do you guys keep your cars looking presentable, if you smoke in them? Is there anything that can be done...or should I just live with the mess that smoking will create in my car (ash, residue, smell, etc.) until I can clean it out properly? I'll be at college soon so I know having a clean car won't be exactly on my top priorities list but I don't want to do anything to my car that would, I dunno, mess it up beyond repair.

2. Chaseme

Chaseme DB Forum Supporter

I've heard good things from 1Z Klima-Cleaner.

Also heard good things from similar vent cleaners.

3. dankfanatic

dankfanatic DB Forum Supporter

routine interior cleaning, windows open, etc..

i've been smoking in my car for the last 7 years. most of my friends are shocked that my car doesn't have a strong tobacco smell. having leather interior helps as well, doesn't seem to absorb as easily as cloth.

4. cu2mike

cu2mike DB Forum Supporter

I don't smoke in my car, lol

5. billyblooshoes

billyblooshoes DB Forum Supporter

routine interior cleaning, making sure to change your cabin air filter often, and carpro sopure treatments. it will never not smell as long as you are smoking thought. the smell is on your skin, clothes, in the car. the only way for your car not to smell at all is quit and then do a major interior cleaning.

only thing about smoking that will mess anything up beyond repair is accidentally burning something and causing damage that way. i once detailed a car for a guy who smoked a tobacco pipe in his car daily for years. the stench of that pipe tobacco was worse than cigarettes, cigars, spilled milk......just horrible. but with the right amount of THOROUGH work i was able to eliminate the smell.

6. JoeyV

JoeyV Welcome to Detailing