Decontaminating a New York City car

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by xyz10, Mar 22, 2012.

1. xyz10

xyz10 Any Rag Vehicle Washer

Local detailers do not use products like Iron-X. Is this a "must use" product for detailers these days for big city cars ? I find I need to clay every 2 months to remove surface contaminents after my annual trip to the detailer.

General process (done by detailer) is wash, clay, mild compound, polish, wax/sealant.

2. Kilo6_one

Kilo6_one DB Forum Supporter

depends on who you ask.........

some cars need that extra decon. Honestly, Ive been claying cars for 15 years, and now all of a sudden IronX seems to be something a lot of people cannot get by without. I have some, and it does work. Its just one extra step to make the finish ready for polishing, or claying, or wax, whatever.

3. Kaban

Kaban Welcome to Detailing

im thinking about getting a spray gun to apply the iron x. regular spray bottles waste way too much product. shit aint cheap.

4. Stokdgs

Stokdgs Detail Master

I dont have any and have not decided if it is cost effective for my business; It costs more than claybars, it is an extra step, and I dont know what affect it will have on the environment as it goes down the drain, and I hear it smells toxic.

Yes, many use it and say its great and I am sure it is...

Dan F

5. Kilo6_one

Kilo6_one DB Forum Supporter

I am sort of with Dan, once its gone I wont order it again. Ive been doing just fine clay baring and polishing. But I had to try it...... LOL

6. +1 i had to try it also. My wife ordered me a whole bunch of it a couple months ago. Im still going through it

7. mike aesthetica

mike aesthetica Jedi Nuba