Complete newbie and idiot

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by carl333, Feb 28, 2014.

1. carl333

carl333 New Member

1st post. I just purchased a Black Camry 2012 with 6000 miles. I have never really owned a relatively new car, so auto detailing was never really on my mind. I never really considered the words "car detailing" to any degree of seriousness until now. Just a quick wax job with a Wallymart product and I was done. Live north of the border so salt, infrequent car washes is what I have to deal with. I don't have a garage so I can't wash and detail until the finer weather sets in. I go through a touch less car wash every couple of weeks to little avail, the moment I drive off, its dirt and salt laden in no time.

Car detailing has now somewhat become an obsession. I spent a few hours just researching and learning about MF towels. Good grief, who would have thought. So right now as I wait for spring to arrive, I am arming and educating myself with an arsenal of car detailing products and of course, what to buy.

I do have a couple of questions and look for some well educated advise here if I may.

Clay vs. nanoskin product or equiv. - Was going to clay but found some interesting reading about nanoskin and it looks like a great revolutionary product. I still read of many suggesting the use of clay and I wonder why. Excuse my ignorance, but is clay just old school thought by those that continue to suggest it and is nanoskin really a great alternative as it appears to be? Some comments from those that have used both would be most welcome.

I will later post my detailing regiment that I plan on using my somewhat little education of car detailing with products that I intend to use. I hope to get on the right track from the get-go with some opinions here with the use of modestly priced products.

Thanks for listening!

2. 911Fanatic

911Fanatic DB Pro Supporter