Calling 12V Audio people...

Discussion in 'Detailing Bliss Lounge' started by WashingJosh, Nov 27, 2011.

1. WashingJosh

WashingJosh Jedi Nuba

Anybody here that's good with car audio, I got some questions.
    I think I have pretty good knowledge about the speaker setup I plan on doing but I don't know sub woofers and amplifiers.
    My main taste in music is hard rock and my main purpose of wanting a sub woofer is to hear drums and bass guitar have more of a "hit" to it.
    I don't need anything to shake the trunk lid I just want to enhance the listening experience in my car.

Anybody got some suggestions for me?

2. Gale Force

Gale Force Obsessive Detailer

I have some experience with this. I've done a few company demo vehicles and have had a some of my customers cars and my own personal car in audio magazines.

Without knowing what vehicle you have I can offer these suggestions,

For front speakers use the biggest midrange/midbass driver you can fit. This is where you'll get a lot of slap from "drums" it also helps bring the sound from the sub forward into the car. I always try my best to fit a quality 6.5" driver either low in the front door or in custom made kick panels. Get a good component set from a reputable company. I like Focal, MB Quart, JL Audio is nice and more affordable, Boston Acoustics are very reliable (I've installed a sh*t load of them... But their sound is not for me).

For subwoofers I really like JL Audio. I can make magic with any of their subs and a box made to suit the customers musical preference.

Amplification, I loved Zapco amps, the new JL Audio amps are a good buy, Phoenix Gold are good....

My go to system for someone like yourself is very simple,

High quality heads unit with a very good D/A converter,
    6.5" component set for front speakers
    10" subwoofer in a ported box
    And the most amplifier you can afford, the biggest 4 channel you can afford, or 2-2 channel amps