Brand new white car. Scratched all over!

Discussion in 'Compounds, Polishes, Paint Cleaners, and Glazes' started by BrShootr, Oct 15, 2012.

1. BrShootr

BrShootr Virgin Detailer

I just got a new VW in "Candy white." I've never owned a white car before and I am now questioning my decision as the car looks the same whether it's been through a rain-storm or washed, clayed, waxed, polished and sealed. :doh:

Anyway, the problem is that the car looks absolutely disgusting in sunlight. I can find scratches left by the dealer everywhere. Every panel has scratches that are fairly deep. On the hood I also found one long scratch that I could not buff out using a DA polisher and even the minor scratches seem to not buff out at all (It could be because I used a non-cutting pad with Ultimate Compound on a DA polisher).

I am a total noob to this and I don't usually have time to spend hours in the garage trying new things. I can probably try to remove the scratches in 2 weeks but may not have time to try anything different for a while. So, the question is: Is it worth trying to remove them or should I just leave it as is?

I keep reading white paint is hard and usually a single stage paint which means I don't have a lot of paint thickness to work with. I am afraid of complaining to the dealer as I'd have to trust the same guys to messed it up to fix the issue although they have a group of detailers in their Audi dealership that are apparently really good at what they do.

2. Kilo6_one

Kilo6_one DB Forum Supporter

Try a cutting pad..... and maybe a different compound, alot of guys have great luck with megs Microfiber and D300 or even other compounds.

as it being worth it, that is up to you. If it bothers you that much then Its worth it.

3. TurboJoe

TurboJoe DB Forum Supporter

Your car is definately clear coated, not single stage paint. And if all you ever use is a d/a, not a rotary, you shouldnt really have to worry about the thickness.