Advice On Caring For A Freshly Painted Car

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by Polygon, May 3, 2009.

1. Polygon

Polygon Virgin Detailer

I will be getting this car back, probably, next week. It's been in the shop for months getting body and paint done. I want to take care of this paint right from the start. First off, are there any precautions I need to take with the new paint? Second, if it were your car, what would you do the first thing you got it home?

I'm not a beginner, but I do have a lot to learn and I have no issues with trying something I haven't before. I have another car I can test on first.

Thanks

2. ScottieB

ScottieB Jedi Nuba

Well first off, I hope your expectations are meet on your paint job. Being a custom painter now, and a body man back in the day, your car probably will have buffer trails all over. What I have learned here is that painters are not detailers. As soon as you get the car back, take out you polishing equipment and detail the paint. Don't be shy with the paint. The body shop hits the paint the next day with compound, so polish will not hurt a thing.
    As for the care of the paint, I use Wizards breathable sealant. Some people say all sealants are breathable, but Wizards is the only that I have found that advertise it as so. I don't use Wizards on details, just on my fresh paint jobs.
    Your mileage may vary.

3. Polygon

Polygon Virgin Detailer

The paint looks very good and as far as I know they just rinse the cars of before they give them back.

Thanks for the advice, I've never polished a car before. Never detailed one nice enough. The most I've done is wax. My usual car washing consists of:

Fill the wheel bucket with car wash and water
    Presoak
    Clean the wheels using wash and a microfiber mitt
    Clean the tires with a tire brush and Bleach White
    Get another bucket and fill with wash and water
    Presoak the car again