A few tips for using Sonax wheel cleaner

Discussion in 'Pre Wash, Wash, Decon, Claying, Engine, Wheels, an' started by dsms, Aug 27, 2010.

1. dsms

dsms DB Forum Supporter

I have been using Sonax for a few months now and I'm happy to say (as is most everyone who has used it) that it lived up to its hype. It really is an excellent wheel cleaner!

A few tips I thought I would share about the product:

1) Apply it to the wheel dry. This is how its supposed to be used and although it may seem counterproductive, so far it has worked out great for me and its a nice time saver. Just wait for the wheels to cool down full and just spray it on and let it sit. No need to pre-rinse!

(Applied dry to the wheel, agitated, rinsed off and then rinsed down the tires and wheel wells and began cleaning those areas after)

[​IMG]

2) For those who spray on and just rinse off. Sonax is fine to use as a spray on a rinse of product if the wheels arent too dirty or too intricate in design. The one thing I have found however is that just a slight residue or film can be left behind on the wheel after rinsing off. No a problem just be sure to do a quick wipedown on them later... if your polishing or sealing than you will cover that step anyway.

3) Have a bucket with brushes filled with soap and water. Since your working this product without rinsing the wheel first I prefer to have my bucket of wheel brushes filled up with car soap and water, this keeps the brushes moving fluidly inside the barrels and just makes the cleaning process a bit easier to complete I find.

4) Blood red! I asked Jason at Sonax about the maximum time I should let the wheel gel sit and he said no more than 10-12 minutes. So far there has not been a wheel I have cleaned which needed more dwell time. Also let the gel turn dark red before you begin to agitate or rinse off... when its a deep dark red you know the gel has done all its cleaning!